New York Counties Within The Capital Region

The Capital Region of New York refers to the metropolitan area surrounding Albany, the capital city of New York State. The region includes Albany, Schenectady, Rensselaer, and the surrounding counties of Saratoga, Greene, Schoharie, Warren, and Columbia.

The area is known for its rich history, as it played an important role in the American Revolution and was a center of commerce and industry during the 19th century. Today, the region is home to a diverse economy that includes government, healthcare, technology, and education.

The city of Albany, the heart of the Capital Region, faces the Hudson River and features a walkable downtown area that offers a variety of dining, shopping, and entertainment options. Albany is also home to numerous historical landmarks and museums, including the New York State Museum and the Albany Institute of History & Art.

Schenectady, the “Electric City,” is another major city in the region and is known for its revitalized downtown area, which includes the historic Proctors Theater and the new Rivers Casino & Resort. Troy, located to the east of Albany in Rensselaer County, was one the wealthiest cities in the nation in the 1800s, and has the architecture to prove it. It’s so period-perfect, in fact, that it’s being used as the set for filming HBO’s The Gilded Age.

Saratoga Springs, in Saratoga County, is a lovely city located in Saratoga County, New York, known for its natural mineral springs, horse racing, and historic architecture. The city is a popular destination for visitors from around the world who come to experience the famous Saratoga Race Course, as well as the numerous other cultural and recreational attractions the city has to offer. Saratoga Springs features a charming downtown area with boutique shops, restaurants, and galleries, as well as beautiful parks and gardens, including Congress Park and the Saratoga Spa State Park.

Warren County is located to the north of Saratoga County and is known for its stunning natural landscapes, including the Adirondack Mountains and Lake George. The county is a popular destination for outdoor activities such as hiking, camping, fishing, and boating, and also offers a variety of cultural and entertainment options.

Schoharie County is a rural county known for its scenic beauty, rolling hills, and agricultural heritage. The county is home to a number of quaint small towns, each with its own individual charm, as well as numerous parks and outdoor recreational opportunities, including the Schoharie Creek and Mine Kill State Parks. The county is also rich in history, with numerous historic landmarks and museums that showcase America’s early settlement and development.

Greene County is located to the south of Albany and is known for its natural beauty, which includes the Catskill Mountains and the Hudson River. The county is a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts and offers activities such as hiking, fishing, skiing, and more.

Columbia County is located to the east of Greene County and is home to numerous historic sites and attractions, including Olana State Historic Site, the Martin Van Buren National Historic Site, and the Hudson-Athens Lighthouse. The county also features a variety of cultural events and festivals throughout the year.

Together, these counties make up the broader Capital Region of New York, a diverse and dynamic area that offers a rich blend of history, culture, and natural beauty.

You can find all our recommendations for the best things to do in the Capital Region sorted by county:

We also have our blog posts sorted by the types of Things To Do: